How to Drive Online
How to Drive Online Course Details
As our teens set out on their journey of independence they need a solid foundation of knowledge, skills and plans to reduce their risk behind the wheel. Quality driver education is a critical element in developing safe driving attitudes, improving hazard recognition and managing visibility, time and space in traffic.
AAA’s How to Drive Online delivers the rules and essential elements of safe driving in an interactive and innovative way. Approved in the state of Pennsylvania for novice driver classroom education, this online program aims to ensure that safe driving habits are developed and maintained for life. AAA has been a leader in the driver training business since 1935, so trust AAA to help keep the roads safe for all travelers.
Pennsylvania State Requirements:
To be eligible to enroll in this online driver education course, you must:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Have access to the Internet
- Complete the online registration form on the next page
- Pay the course fee
A driver education program consists of (30) hours of classroom or online instruction AND six (6) hours of professional behind the wheel training with a state approved driver education provider.
How to Drive Online
Member Price - $85.00
Non-Member Price - $105.00
- State approved 30 hour course
- Premier research-based curriculum
- Interactive and engaging
This approved 30-hour course features:
- Convenient and self-paced delivery
- A virtual parent session designed to educate parents on the learning to drive process (Optional)
- 30-hour Online content satisfies all PA state requirements for novice classroom training
- The most up-to-date information from scientifically validated sources
- Innovative delivery including video, synchronous presentations, simulations and interactive exercises to enhance content retention
In this course, students will complete 40 different chapters broken down into 12 units of online instruction. Each chapter has a quiz that requires a student to pass at 70% before moving to the next unit. According to Pennsylvania regulations, only two hours of online instruction can be completed in a calendar day. Once all the units are completed, students will have the opportunity to take three practice exams where they will be able to review their incorrect answers. Once the practice exams are completed, students will complete a final exam, of which they must achieve at least an 70% in order to pass. Students have up to 120 days to complete the online course but may move through the program in as little as 15 days. Once the online course has been successfully completed and the final exam passed, a certificate of completion can be downloaded by the student. The certificate must be presented to the driving school where the behind-the-wheel training will be completed.
What about the permit?
For information on obtaining your Pennsylvania Driver license visit the PA DMV website at: https://www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/Driver-Licensing/Pages/get-driver-license.aspx
All students will be required to pass the state written exam at a license branch in order to be issued a learner’s permit. This course, in addition to reviewing the Pennsylvania Driver’s Manual, will help prepare them for that exam. Applicants will be required to know state specific laws not covered in this course.
Your Trusted Partner
AAA has been America’s trusted partner for over 100 years when it comes to automobiles, so why go anywhere else for defensive driving? Our courses have been created for your utmost convenience, anytime, anywhere.
This course meets state and/or federal accessibility standards by providing the material verbally and in text to ensure equal access to all users. The transcript of this course may be accessed through the “Menu options” located at the top of each page.
AAA Driving School Questions
What are the steps for Pennsylvania’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program?
In Pennsylvania, young drivers under the age of 18 must go through a 3-phase process to ultimately obtain a Regular or Unrestricted Driver’s License:
1. Learner’s Permit
2. Junior License
3. Regular/Unrestricted License
How do I get a Learner’s Permit?
Please refer to PennDOT’s website for the most accurate information: www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/DriverLicensing/pages/get-driver-license.aspx
How long is the Learner’s Permit good for?
This permit is valid for one year from the date of issurance.
Can I renew my Learner’s Permit?
Yes, if something happens to your permit or you need more time to complete behind-the-wheel training, you may return to the PennDOT License Center BEFORE the permit expires and pay another $5.00 fee. You will not need to submit the other documentation to renew unless the original permit expires.
What kind of driving restrictions apply to me after obtaining my permit?
Junior Learner’s Permit holders may only drive while supervised by another licensed driver 21 years of age or older (usually a parent or guardian). That supervising driver must sit in the front seat beside the permit holder, and the vehicle may only carry the same number of passengers as there are seat belts available.
How does AAA’s How to Drive Online driver education program work?
The program is available to AAA members at a discounted rate and consists of 8 chapters, each covering a single Pennsylvania driving topic. A multiple-choice quiz is presented at the end of each chapter. In compliance with DOE requirements, only 2 hours of the program may be taken each day, and each section is timed to ensure that the program takes no less than 30 hours to complete. When the course is done, a final exam is administered to earn certification. This exam may be re-taken as many times as is needed to pass, at no additional cost. The certification can be earned in a minimum of 15 days and you have 120 days to complete the certification.
Does AAA’s How to Drive Online program fulfill the Pennsylvania Department of Education requirement for 30 hours of driving theory education, and can it be used to qualify for the early issuance of a regular/unrestricted driver’s license at age 17½, as lo
Am I qualified for a discount on insurance premiums with completion of AAA’s How to Drive Online program, along with successful completion of a 6-hour behind-the-wheel instructional program?
Yes, contact your insurance provider for details.
How do I get my Junior Driver’s License?
Successfully pass the PennDOT road test with a certified state examiner.
What do I have to do prior to taking the PennDOT Road Test?
- You must have held your Learner’s Permit for at least 6 months
- You must be at least 16 years and 6 months old
- You must complete a minimum of 65 total hours of supervised practice driving (10 of which must have been done at night and 5 must have been done in poor weather conditions)
- Your parent or guardian must sign the DL-180C form attesting to the fact that you have indeed accomplished the required hours of training.
What should I know about taking the PennDOT Road Test?
- Arrive early for your test to make certain you don’t miss the appointed time.
- You will have to show your Learner’s Permit and your accompanying driver will have to show his/her valid Driver’s License.
- The vehicle that you will be driving for the test must be properly registered, inspected and insured, and you must show proof of all of these. The examiner will check the mirrors, doors, seats, seat belts, and tires to confirm the vehicle is safe to drive.
- The examiner will ask you to demonstrate the proper operation of the lights, horn, brakes, windshield wipers, and turn signals.
What driving restrictions apply to me under the Junior Driver’s License?
As a new Junior License holder, you may drive unsupervised between the hours of 5 a.m. and 11 p.m. To drive outside of those hours you must be supervised by a parent or guardian. Some exceptions apply (i.e., job, charity and volunteer activities).
For the first 6 months, Junior License holders may not drive with more than one passenger under the age of 18, who is not an immediate family member, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian.
After the first 6 months, you may drive with up to three unrelated passengers under 18, as long as you have not been convicted of a driving violation or as long as you have not been held partially or fully responsible for a reportable crash.
You must be accompanied by a parent or guardian if you wish to carry more than three young passengers regardless of how long the Junior License has been held. Under Pennsylvania law, the number of passengers carried is restricted to the number of seat belts available in the vehicle.
How do I get my Regular or Unrestricted Driver’s License?
Your Junior License will automatically become a Regular/Unrestricted License on your 18th birthday. You can upgrade your license 6 months before turning 18 if you have held your Junior License for at least 1 year, have remained free of violations and crashes, and have taken a certified driver education course (classroom or online training, along with behind-the-wheel training) from your school, AAA Central Penn, or another PA Department of Education-approved private driving school.
Driving School Fees & Enrollment Form
Driving School Enrollment Form
Please download and print this Driving School Enrollment Form.
Driving School Agreement Form
Please download and print this Driving School Agreement Form.
Request Roadside Assistance
Request 24/7 emergency roadside assistance.
Become a AAA Member
AAA Members have access to a variety of benefits and discounts.